PPJ#14-Aidan Dougher

This week was a lot of re-animating, rendering, figuring out render passes, I think we hung the poster this past week. I have no idea what happened this past week. I am too tired to recall anything. We did render tests of our scenes, and we had a goal for Saturday to give our adviser some lighting tests in our scenes and I’m having a bit of trouble getting the lighting I want in the scene. I also am having trouble making my ground texture not so blown out in my scene. I’m having trouble in general.

I took off on Thursday after my classes because I was exhausted, and I needed to relax. I regret it a little right now because I could have done so much work then. But then I would be exhausted from that too. I have also started working almost 30 hour weeks, and I’m having flashbacks to the days when I worked at Dunkin’ Donuts my sophomore year here and I wasn’t able to balance all my school work as well as I was able to when I wasn’t working. Having a part time job in this program is practically impossible. Even when I’m taking only 13 credits. I feel like I’m letting people down on my team because I can’t be in the labs as often, but I’m in the labs like every day until midnight as soon as I get out of classes or work.

I also want to go home over spring break. But seeing as there is still a lot to do for our project, I won’t be able to. Which is pretty depressing for me, because I want to visit my family for at least a weekend. But I’m afraid that our project won’t look good, and I don’t want to have to stand up in front of a ton of people during the Senior Showcase and have to show off sub-par work because of all the hiccups we have had on the way. So I will be working on senior project over break. Fixing what needs to be fixed, rendering what needs to be rendered, animating what needs to be animated.

I worked on the environment for my scene on Friday, and I worked on animating all weekend. I’m having trouble making the dog limp away from the man, but I have reference of a dog limping that I found on YouTube, so I can use that. I can’t make a dog actually limp and then take a video because dogs can’t act on command unless you train them too, and I don’t have a dog to train at the moment, but check back in 10 years and I might have a dog whom I will train to fake limp.

I am doing a test batch render right now, and hopefully it won’t be horrible, our man is having issues, and we aren’t sure what to make of it. Anna and I spent almost and hour attempting to fix it, and couldn’t figure out a solution, we also got some help from other people, but it is a strange problem and they didn’t know what to do either. Update: Cali and Ian Hartman came up with a solution that worked, hurrah.

The Good: We put our poster up, that stress is over. Hurray.

The Bad: Apparently out man rig has an issue when batch rendering which we haven’t caught before, and it’s a strange one. (this has been fixed but who knows what else could go wrong) We are down to the grindstone and we have just caught this stupid thing. I just want the faculty to have faith in us next week, but I’m not even sure I have faith in us. I think I’m going to stand by Murphy’s law, “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” for the rest of this project.

