Spring PPJ#7

This sprint has been draining. Our advisor is giving us environment and lighting crits and expects to see these changes. I’ve been implementing new environment iterations into a lot of shots, and re-animating them as well. We had an environment lock over a month ago, but I don’t seem to have much a choice. Our animations aren’t perfect, but things that have had no feedback in the past are now getting heavily critted, forcing a lot of things we thought were okay, to be re-rendered. The labs are always full, every functional computer has been in use, and underclassmen are struggling to find spaces to do their own work. Resources are competitive right now, and this has been my biggest fear as we neared the end of the term. We had been allocated some wrong information, so there actually IS a cap on the number of Renderman licenses we can use on the farm. This further limits our resources. We have three weeks left and I’m worried we’re not going to make it to the finish line. It’s even more exhausting that many of my friends and loved ones are graduating from colleges right now, and it’s straining seeing so many people celebrate their proudest moment while I’m going through a really low point in my life. I can barely scrape up the energy to be a supportive friend or even a good team lead right now. Am I doing anything right?
The Good ~ I’ve still been making good progress with animation. My step-dad got his bachelor’s degree this weekend. Spending time with my family to celebrate — I’ve felt more like myself than I have in a while. I’m so so so happy no one asked me about school.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 10.39.15 AM
Doing som e

The Bad ~ Just me.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 10.44.26 AM
We got our first piece of fan art from an outsider.
Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 10.44.14 AM
Still getting some fun rendering errors. We call this one, where it throws up rainbows, the gotye pattern.
