Spring Week 10 – Aidan Dougher PPJ

Aidan


So, this is the last week, we turn in the project tomorrow morning. I’m equally terrified and relieved. I am not going to be completely satisfied with our final, but I will deal with what we have. I’m never going to be satisfied with anything I turn in, I guess it’s not in my personality to be satisfied with my art. I can always imagine it being better, I can see something bigger and better with every project I have apart in.

This week was entirely comping and waiting on renders, I was really scared for a while that my renders for one of my shots would be terrible. But they weren’t bad, but there were a lot, a lot, a lot of re-renders. Not as many as other teams, but for some reason, one of my sequences wouldn’t render out some frames correctly, which was dumb. then there was the case of the missing pants, and the case of clipping geometry. But in the end, it was all worth it, because I got I pretty good sequence out. We had a bit of a scare last night when Will had not worked on his comp all weekend, but that all worked out and we were able to fix up some of his plants that didn’t look so nice.

Over the past 10 or so months we have gone from a witch girl, a little boy pulling a wagon to a man on an alien planet with a dog creature. We went from a more desert theme to a pastel theme, leaning heavily on pink and purple. I’m not terribly happy with our story, but it does an okay job I guess.

Overall I had a nice enough time on this project, and although we all had our differences, we were able to make an animation together, which is pretty awesome. I’m very tired from rendering and comping all weekend, and I’m glad I had this experience.

 

Leave a Reply

